Submit to StumbleUpon

The Consensus for American Security is an initiative of the American Security Project, made up of influential military and national security leaders who have come together to provide mechanisms in order to create long-term consensus around the big strategic national security issues facing our country, including: nuclear weapons, energy & climate security, terrorism, our economic competitiveness, and comprehensive national security strategy.

The Consensus members support key policy measures designed to move defense and foreign policies toward a smart and comprehensive 21st century national security strategy; hosting forums and other public events to educate decision makers about the dangers of failing to address today’s threats; outreach to the media; and, encouraging smart and non-partisan discourse among policy makers.

Submit to StumbleUpon

Christine W. McEntee

Executive Director/ Chief Executive Officer, AGU
Herson Headshot

Michael Herson

President and Chief Executive Officer of American Defense International, Inc

Alexander R. M. Boyle

Member of the Economic Club of Washington and serves as a Director of the Montgomery College Foundation and a Director of Neediest Kids, Inc

Mark Haynes

President of Concordia Power

Bart Gordon

Mr. Gordon served as Chairman of the House Committee on Science and Technology from 2007 to 2010
Justin Cooper

Justin Cooper

Senior Adviser to President William J. Clinton


Former Senior Advisor on Intergovernmental Affairs to the Under Secretary of State for Public Diplomacy & Public Affairs

Tim Peckinpaugh

Tim Peckinpaugh is a partner at the law firm K&L Gates. His practice focuses on energy, environmental and natural resource legislative and funding issues.

Colonel Steve McCain

Colonel Steve McCain is the Director of Defense Policy Practice at the law firm K&L Gates. He retired from the Department of Defense (DOD) after twenty-six years of service and now focuses on national security policy and appropriations.

Jackson Dunn

Senior Managing Director, FTI Consulting
Paul Adamson,jpeg

Paul Adamson

Editor-in-chief and founding publisher of E!Sharp and Senior European Policy Advisor at Covington and Burling
David Weller


From 1993 through 2011: Deputy Director General and head of management of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).
RAdm Titley

Dr. David W Titley, Rear Admiral USN (ret.)

Senior Scientist, Department of Meteorology Director, Center for Solutions to Weather and Climate Risk

Dante Disparte

Managing Director at Clements Worldwide
Glenn Nye

Glenn Nye

Glenn Nye is a Senior Advisor at Palantir Technologies and a former Member of Congress (VA-02).

Philippe Maze-Sencier

Executive Director in APCO Worldwide’s Washington, D.C., office and leads APCO’s government relations practice
Ali Tulbah

Ali Tulbah

Managing Director at McLarty Associates

Peter Rashish

Senior Advisor for Europe and Transatlantic Trade at Transnational Strategy Group LLC
Morton Abramowitz88

Morton Abramowitz

Former Assistant Secretary of State, Former Special Assistant to the Secretary of Defense
Brig. Gen John Adams

Brig. General John Adams

USA (Retired)
Graham Allison thumb

Graham Allison

Special Advisor to the Secretary of Defense (1985-1987)
Col Allwine88

Colonel David Allwine

USA (Retired)

Mary Catherine Andrews

Special Assistant to the President (2003-2005)

Scott Bates

Senior Advisor to the U.S. House of Representatives’ Homeland Security Committee (2002-2005)

Samuel R. Berger

National Security Advisor (1997-2001)

Dr. Coit Blacker

National Security Council Senior Director for Russian, Ukrainian, and Eurasian Affairs (1993-1997)

Barry Blechman, PhD

Assistant Director, Arms Control and Disarmament Agency (1977-1980)

Ronald E. Neumann

President, American Academy of Diplomacy

Ambassador Richard Burt

Chief Negotiator, Strategic Arms reduction talks with the Former Soviet Union
Dr. Antonia Chayes88

Hon. Dr. Antonia Chayes

Former Under Secretary of the US Air Force (1979-1981), Professor, Tufts University
Brigadier General Stephen A. Cheney

BGen Stephen A. Cheney

USMC (Retired)
Lt. Col. Chris Courtney88

Lt. Colonel Chris Courtney

USA (Retired), Defense Consultant
Nelson W. Cunningham

Nelson W. Cunningham

Senior White House Foreign Policy Advisor (1997-1998)
Sidney Drell

Sidney D. Drell

Director Emeritus of CISAC at Stanford

Dennis M. Gormley

Senior Research Fellow at the Matthew B. Ridgway Center for International Security Studies
Vice Admiral Vice Gunn

Vice Admiral Lee Gunn

USN (Retired)
The Honorable Gary Hart

The Honorable Gary Hart

US Senator (D-CO) (1975-1987)
Adm. Robert Inman88

Admiral Bobby Ray Inman

USN (Retired), Former Director of the NSA (1977-81), Former Deputy Director of the CIA (1981-82)
john johns2

Brig. General John Johns

USA (Retired)
Mr. Clarence Juhl88

Mr. Clarence Juhl

Former Principal Director for European and NATO Affairs in the Office of the Secretary of Defense

Dr. David Kay

Chief Inspector, UNSCOM Iraq (1991-1992)

Geoffrey Kemp

Director of Regional Strategic Programs at the Nixon Center

Lawrence J. Korb

Assistant Secretary of Defense for Manpower, Reserve Affairs, Installations, and Logistics (1981-1985)
Col. Mark Mykleby88

Col. Mark “Puck” Mykleby

USMC (Retired), Former Special Strategic Assistant to the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff
Admiral William Owens

Admiral William Owens

USN (Retired)
Dr. Alan Platt88

Dr. Alan Platt

Principal, Gibson Dunn
Dr. Christopher Preble88

Dr. Christopher Preble

Vice President for Defense and Foreign Policy Studies, CATO Institute
Guy Roberts88

Guy B. Roberts

Former Deputy Assistant Secretary General for Weapons of Mass Destruction Policy
Dr. Scott Sagan88

Dr. Scott Sagan

Co-director of CISAC, Professor and Sr. Fellow at Stanford University

Lt. General Norman Seip

12th Air Force Commander, Davis-Monthan Air Force Base
George Shultz

George P. Shultz

Secretary of State (1982-1989)

Ambassador Steven Pifer

U.S. Ambassador to Ukraine (1998-2000)

Strobe Talbott

President, Brookings Institution
Caren Turner88

Caren Z. Turner, Esq.

CEO of Turner Government & Public Affairs

Maj. General Jasper Welch

USAF (Retired)